Justice Eva Guzman Named Liaison at Access to Justice Commission Reception

Monday, July 14, 2014
In The Media

The Texas Lawbook  | By Brooks Igo

Chief Justice Nathan Hecht introduced Justice Eva Guzman as the liaison to both the Access to Justice Commission and the Access to Justice Foundation at a reception hosted by the Texas ATJC at the State Bar’s Annual Meeting in Austin on June 26. Hecht served as the liaison prior to Guzman and will remain involved with Texas ATJC and ATJF.

Additionally, former 12th Court of Appeals Justice Diane DeVasto presented a $1,821.90 donation to the Texas ATJF on behalf of the Committee for the Recognition of the 50th Anniversary of the 12th Court of Appeals. Texas ATJF Chair Richard “Dick” Tate, Texas ATJF Executive Director Betty Balli Torres and Chief Justice Hecht accepted the check on behalf of Texas ATJF.

More than 70 judges and lawyers were in attendance for Texas ATJC’s Second Annual Champion of Justice Society Reception in honor of attorneys from around the state that contribute at least $250 per year to support access to justice. The Champion of Justice Society has 265 current members, 164 of which have joined this year.

Photos provided by Texas Law Book